fleury goes airborne

A year after their quest to three-peat went off the rails en-route to their worst finish in franchise history, the Airborne Attack made good on GM Mikel Bulbrook's vow to go to Hell and Back in their quest to bring back the Theoren Fleury Memorial Trophy to the Echo Park Pavilion.

Ryan Getzlaf hoists the Fleury Memorial Trophy

Led by much maligned goaltender Craig Anderson, who allowed just one goal in two starts in the final, and receiving valuable offensive contributions from sniper Alex Ovechkin and rookie Nick Bjugstad, the Attack rolled to a convincing victory over Hockey Without Borders, in a rematch of the first ever GFHL championship matchup. The Borders put a scare into their opponents thanks largely to Claude Giroux's 7-point week, but the star forward's teammates were unable to provide enough support to fend off the Attack.

After an up-and-down start to the season, the Attack went into overdrive in mid-December, losing just one of their last 17 games. This year's title marks the team's fourth in seven years. For Hockey Without Borders, meanwhile, the loss gives them three runner-up finishes in seven years, as they continue to seek their first championship.